My CFO

I’d like to think of myself as the CEO of my family of four. With all the planning and scheduling and housework, “mom” isn’t a good enough title. If I’m the CEO, then my husband is most definitely the CFO. I’m sure I’ve mentioned before that we live on a budget. And we are able to live a comfortable life on one income because the CFO and his monthly spread sheet budget run a tight ship around here.

With all the added stress this past week, I’ve been a little naughty in regards to following the family budget. So, before Mike collects the week’s receipts and starts entering numbers, I think I’d better make a few adjustments to his spread sheet.

Here are the categories I need to add this month:
Guilt purchases: 34.68
Child bribes: 20.97
Retail therapy: 141.52

Subcategories:
Under “medications”: Dunkin Donuts coffee purchases; Wendy’s frosties
Under “groceries”: Ben & Jerry’s ice cream in which I drowned my sorrows (hey, it’s food!)

I think it could have been worse. I unleashed the rest of my stress by rearranging furniture. And cleaning. In fact, I’ve been cleaning so much that I started moving furniture to clean underneath which then prompted me to completely rearrange all three bedrooms and the playroom. I also completed a diy project I’ve been working on during stolen moments of free time.

What do you do when you’re anxious or stressed? I need some new ideas!

2 thoughts on “My CFO

  1. MS – silence is one of the best medications for anxiety. Blaise Pascal said, “All of man’s problems stem from his inability to sit quiet in a room, alone.” I would recommend meditation. Start by just sitting down in a quiet room – quiet. Then, try to focus your thoughts into focusing on one thing. Start short first, three minutes, two minutes, whatever.
    Let me know what you think.

  2. I’m totally hooked on those stupid monthly subscription boxes. I’m currently signed up for Ipsy, Birchbox, and Try the World. There are about 8 more I’d sign up for if I had total financial freedom. These things are better than Xmas!!

Leave a comment