Self Doubt and the Artist

The hardest part about writing, for me, has been overcoming my own self doubt. I’ll write and write and I’ll be totally in love with my work and then BAM! Self doubt creeps in and makes me think everything I’ve written is just a big pile of shit and I should quit while I’m ahead. I started writing a novel when I was 18. I never finished it. My God! That was 20 years ago! I still have it in a folder somewhere, jammed into the back of one of our filing cabinets. Maybe I’ll look at it again. Maybe not. Here I am, 20 years later – 20 years of life experience, self confidence, self acceptance later. And that hater, Self Doubt, is still lingering.

But here’s the schtick: it’s an artist thing. Everyone who creates something has some moment of doubt that what they’ve made is any good. If anyone else, except their mom, will like it. Pull through, oh creators of beautiful things, and remember that we are our own worst critics.

Image

2 thoughts on “Self Doubt and the Artist

Leave a Reply

