Tick Tock

ImageI have this thing about time. I don’t know why since my job doesn’t really have deadlines. I can make dinner whenever the heck I want and if the laundry sits in the dryer for a day or two before I take it out to fold it, no one is going to fire me. There’s no threat to my salary, security or position. Just my sanity, apparently.

Hi, my name is Tamara and I’m a procrastinator. And I also hate to be late. These things don’t belong in my brain together and yet, here I am. It’s causing me some anxiety and I keep telling myself to let it go. For whatever reason, I have a hard time letting go.

I officially hate getting a kid out the door in the morning. I’ve never enjoyed trying to get somewhere at a specific time since having children. (Okay, since I could tell time. Sheesh.) But trying to get a 5 year old to do four things – just four – before leaving for school is driving me out of my mind.

Image

I stopped wearing a watch a few years ago because I kept looking at it and worrying about time. And now I spend each morning hustling my two kids out the door and into the car and I worry about the time until that moment when my daughter opens the door to the school and disappears inside. Let’s not even discuss the school bus schedule and how I think it’s make-believe.

Do you have an issue with time? Are you perpetually early everywhere you go? Late no matter what?

3 thoughts on “Tick Tock

  1. I’m inconsistent… I hate being late, too. But I’m late for stuff often. Lately I’ve been struggling with getting the kids to school on time. I think it’s because it’s staying dark later and later. And the time change this weekend might literally kill me.

Leave a Reply

