Lessons of a Kindergarten Mom

It’s Friday! Usually this didn’t really matter to me since I’m a stay at home mom, but now that I have to get my kid on the bus at 7:15 in the morning, I’ve been having to wake up with an alarm. I hate 6 a.m. Have I mentioned that I’m not a morning person? My father used to wake me up every morning, even into the high school years, in a jolly good mood that made me grumble under my breath. Now I have a husband who comes and shakes me if I don’t get out of bed after shutting off the alarm. He too is ridiculously cheerful and laughs at my grumbling. A girl just can’t catch a break!

Other than adjusting to the earlier wake up, I am trying to learn bus stop small talk etiquette. Can I please not have to talk about the weather every morning? Really. I don’t mind silence. I guess I’m anti-social, but when the sun has barely risen and I’m not quite awake, I really don’t want to have to talk to anyone.

Caylie got off the bus yesterday afternoon. It was pouring, so I had driven to the bus stop. As we were pulling away, I mentioned to Caylie that I noticed that her little friend from up the street hadn’t been sitting with her on the bus the last two days. I asked her if she knew why and Caylie said, “Yeah, she said I’m annoying and stupid, so now I have to sit alone on the bus.” Wow. Talk about a gut punch. I felt so bad for her, especially since she told me in such a straightforward way that her “best friend” was mean to her. Kids suck. And girls are mean. I just didn’t realize that 5 year old girls could be mean too.

K bully

10 thoughts on “Lessons of a Kindergarten Mom

  1. That is awful, 5 year olds should not be hearing that from their friends. One of the trillion reasons I think about homeschooling, I probably won’t but bus rides scare, seeing as how I never really had to ride the bus. I went private k-12, so got driven.
    too funny about small talk and bus stop etiquette.

    • My daughter went to a small Christian nursery/pre-school and all the kids were just so loving and caring. Now we’ve moved from the little pond to the big pond so to speak and I’m realizing just how much parental influence has on children and how they relate to each other. I’m missing that smaller loving environment right now. More power to you if you can handle homeschooling! I never could!

  2. My husband in one of those people who pops out of bed, straight into the shower and starts chores at 5 am. When I used to work he would sing to me, laugh and me and shake the bed until I woke up. Now I usually wake up on my own around 3 or 4 am, but I’m still not in a great mood. My son rides the bus but we are lucky as the bus stops right at our driveway so no one for me to have to talk to. I am sorry that your daughter had to hear such horrible words from someone she considered her best friend.

  3. I suggest that you go to the bus stop in your bath robe and your big bird bedroom slippers. That will give the other mom plenty to talk about! Rude things have happened to all of us while in school (remember your first day at Cleveland Heights High?), it’s just too bad that Caylie is experiencing it so early. It sounds like she has handled it well.

    • I don’t have big bird slippers, but maybe I should get some. Caylie handled it well, but I think she’s still hopeful that her friend will come around. Until then, I told her that she doesn’t have to be friends with people who aren’t nice to her.

Leave a Reply

