Book Buying in the Post-Jurassic Era

I let my kids watch Jurassic Park today. I was feeling brave. They loved it. While we were watching it, I was trying to explain extinction to my kids in a way they would understand. I guess all they gathered is that all the dinosaurs were alive once and now they’re dead. This prompted the age old question: “Mom, were you born when dinosaurs were still alive?” Lovely. I laughed so hard I think I insulted my daughter’s intellectual curiosity. I may have also had spittle on my chin.

In Post-Jurassic news, I am continuing on with my Book Blogger Challenge.

Day Six: Describe how you shop for books.

I can answer this question two ways. How do I shop for books, as in, how do I buy books? Let’s see… um, I don’t. I check books out of the library. I have read 100 books since January 1st. I can’t afford to buy books. When I do buy them (and they have to cost $1.99 or less) I buy them on Amazon.com and read them on my Kindle. I used to go to bookstores, once upon a time. And then I had kids. Browsing is in the extinction category of my current life.

Second way to ask this question is: how do I select the books I read? Well, that’s easy. Genre. It depends on what kind of story I want to read. I rarely read non-fiction, but when I do, it’s about something interesting to me. I think I’ve read, maybe, 4 non-fiction books in the last 12 months. One of them was about health, one about parenting, one about Socio-Economics (don’t ask) and the last was about finding hope. With fiction, I started off the year reading straight up romances and Young Adult post-apocalyptic fiction. Right now I’m heavily into Urban Fantasy and I am quickly running out of authors to try. I’m reading through series like they’re going out of style.

What’s your favorite genre to read?

2 thoughts on “Book Buying in the Post-Jurassic Era

  1. I believe I’ve already suggested Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files, I believe. I’m trying to think of more, but you’re UF knowledge probably has mine drop-kicked. Non-fiction, have you read Stephen King’s On Writing? It’s a must. Back to fiction and very quasi-fantastical, but also adding a bit of human Spirit, if you will, is Paulo Cohelo’s The Alchemist.

    Seriously, though. Were you born when dinosaurs were alive?

  2. Both Mike and I are reading the Dresden Files right now. I also read Stephen King’s On Writing recently, so I guess I’ve read 5 non-fiction books instead of 4. I don’t know how I could have forgotten that one because I loved it!

    Oh, and about those dinosaurs… I remember what year you were born, my friend.

Leave a Reply

