Mommy of the Year

My daughter will be the death of me. I almost kicked off the weekend with a call to 911 to report my daughter missing from the house. Mike and I went to bed later than normal last night. I was still deep in dreamland when my husband ran into the bedroom yelling, “She’s gone! She’s nowhere in the house!” I opened one eye and mumbled something like, “Erp mrrr, whaa?” The answer I got: “Caylie is not in the house and I don’t know where she is.” – was very effective in getting me up out of bed.

Before picking up the phone to involve the police, I slipped on my shoes and walked up the street in my pajamas, my hair sticking up every which way to Sunday and my eyes half-closed. I knocked on my neighbor’s door, 2 houses down. Caylie was there in her Hello Kitty nightgown playing with her little friend Alex. Her mom said she had rung the doorbell at 7 that morning. It was 7:30 when I showed up to collect her.

My kid was missing for 30 minutes and I was off enjoying a little extra REM sleep. Don’t I feel like Mommy of the Year.

7 thoughts on “Mommy of the Year

    • Thank you! Now I just have to figure out how to make her understand she can’t do it again. This isn’t the first time she’s disappeared on us. Although, this is the first time she’s done it when I was sleeping.

  1. I’m actively “liking” this post, but not because your daughter ran away from home and was almost eaten by some horrible fairy-tale ogre. I’m just glad you found her. I guess it’s true what they say – they keep you on your toes.

  2. People in Maine can be weird like that. Everyone is so private and keeps to themselves out here. Since I’ve let my daughter walk up there before to play, the mom believed Caylie when she said I told her she could go over.

Leave a Reply

