The Nitty-Gritty

When I started this blog, I meant for it to be me commenting on the antics of my 2 children, my life as a mom and wife, my control-freak anxieties about basic motherhood issues all wrapped up with a little bit of wit and sarcasm.

What I didn’t expect (and who ever does?) was that I would go through the traumatic event of my life, so far, while I was writing posts for others to read. So, in a way, I feel like I should apologize to my readers for the deep, dark things that I have been writing about. But since I write more for myself than anyone else (selfish, I know, but true nonetheless) I need to be true to how I am feeling now. This has become part of my journey through motherhood. I have discovered, the hard way, that it isn’t just spit-up and diapers, sassy back-talk and snuggling. Sometimes motherhood is dark and gritty and ugly. And I will be walking through that part of my journey for a while longer.

I hope that it will be sooner, rather than later, when I can start blogging regularly about the antics of my children and my light-hearted frustrations as a parent. But I also hope that some of my deeper posts can help other women out there, struggling with something, feel less alone in their pain and sadness. And I hope that my friends who read this will neither experience this horrible part of motherhood, nor feel neglected as I withdraw from the real world for a while. I hope that these posts can be how you gauge my emotions and what I’m going through mentally, so that when I can’t speak of it, you will still understand.

2 thoughts on “The Nitty-Gritty

  1. Oh Tamara, I love you. You wear your heart on ur shoulders 24/7 and thats what makes you you, don’t ever change. I love that you are able to write either funny or dark. I enjoy reading what you have to say.
    I, though haven’t been in ur shoes, understand that you need time to cope and hopefully will find closure in ur own way. You are too nice of a person to have gone thru this but plz rmbr u r not alone. We are here for you. If you Wanna get together for a play date, lunch, or just to talk I’m here. And if u don’t want to I understand just the same. Or if you’d rather chat over the phone thats ok too.
    Just plz know that we r here for you in anyway you want.
    Much love daring.

    Heather, Cooper & Dellas

Leave a Reply

