Introductions, please.

Hi. My name is Tamara and I’m a control freak. I am also a mom. I have 2 kids: a 3 year old daughter and a 1 year old son. In other words, I exist in a state of (almost) perpetual chaos.

For some, a state of chaos is perfectly acceptable, or even enjoyable. But not so for the Control Freak Mom. Chaos is a 4-letter word in my world! Don’t get me wrong, I love my kids and I want to be home with them. In fact, there’s nothing I want to do more than stay at home with my kids. I want to raise them with love, affection, attention, good morals and values, teaching them respect and kindness towards others, to have good manners, to make healthy choices and to just generally become creative, intelligent, GOOD human beings.

Yeah, I’ve got my work cut out for me. Most days I just try to keep up with them and still get the laundry done and dinner made.

But I think there is a general misconception out there in the universe about SAHMs. Either a mom stays home with her kids because she is unemployable/unwilling to work/lazy, or that she is Mrs. Mary Sunshine Homemaker and that she enjoys every single waking moment of motherhood and handles children and life with a smile and a positive attitude. Sadly, universe, you are mistaken. But boy do I wish I could be Mrs. Mary Sunshine Homemaker! I’m quite sick of comments like, “You should go back to work if being home makes you so crazy.” Yeah, so, just because I bitch about it doesn’t mean I don’t like it. Duh!

So this is my confession of the day: I love my kids, but I don’t always enjoy every moment of motherhood and I am not always smiling or thinking positively. I am not perfect. And neither are my kids. And my eternal lesson from the class of Motherhood is that I have to learn to live with that.

One thought on “Introductions, please.

  1. Thank you for making me smile. Your confession of the day, was exactly my last thought before I put Owen to sleep tonight. I felt broken by motherhood today, thinking those exact thoughts and putting into perspective that I truly do want to stay home with my kid(s) and have scarificed so much to do so (as so many mothers have). There are many days I think about what it would have been like to focus on a career instead of a family…but, then I think what an enriched life I am living and feel so thankful knowing my career goals will just be delayed, and not impossible. So, I’m with you on the frustration, and being on that brink of feeling like there is no more I can possibly do in one day to be a good mom….I just have to accept I’ve done my best that day and at least made it through….haha. Thanks for the post, looking forward to reading all about your adventures.

Leave a Reply

